News:

Please begin sharing multitrack files as FLAC files. Read more here!

Author Topic: My FIRST mix posted here guys! PLS give me some feedback on it!  (Read 1150 times)

November 14, 2015, 09:45:55 AM
If you get a chance, wrap your ears around this mix and feel free to share your opinion! I've been mixing ITB for about 5 years now and this is my first mix submission online!

https://soundcloud.com/boil-the-ocean-production/rushford-mile-gettin-gone-paul-douse-remix
« Last Edit: November 29, 2015, 05:36:49 AM by Paul Douse »
"Procrastination is the thief of time"
Boil the Ocean Production
"Do the Impossible"

• No avatar
January 01, 2016, 07:09:54 PM
Sounds good. But the song may require a better arrangement for a "level up"  imho

• No avatar
January 02, 2016, 04:21:41 AM
Well, I have a few observations and suggestions.  In general I hear several instruments fighting for the same low mid range.  Cutting some slots for each instruments to cut through would probably add a lot of clarity.  I find the drums too far down.  The kick could use some parallel compression of the squeezed click to make it cut through.   The bass is hard to find so some parallel compression would help it stand out  too. The snare should also be processed to cut through more.  The rhythm guitar is too dominant and should be softened.  Push out the vocal in the chorus.  Using some volume automation to feature the banjo and lead guitar where they are prominent would add some interest. 

January 19, 2016, 04:39:59 PM
Hi Paul! Firstly what a brilliant song and a brilliant band! It must have been a pleasure to mix their work.