News:

Please begin sharing multitrack files as FLAC files. Read more here!

Author Topic: Tardy Introduction  (Read 1610 times)

• No avatar
January 07, 2012, 02:30:28 AM
Hello - I was thrilled to find your site a short while ago and jumped right in - after taking to heart the moderator's advice to make a couple of critiques before posting my own mix in a Folk mixoff - and have since regretted the rather impoverished and unhelpful comments I made.

I say this because I have spent a lot of time since then reading commentary and critiques in exchanges between members who know what they're talking about!  I have been playing around with mixing in an irregular way for a couple of years now.  My lengthy background is in television audio and film sound, with a little bit of live engineering and mixing for a local morning show. I learned a few things getting just one pass at 630 am for a 730 am performance from a rock band who may or may not have slept since the bar closed on their show the night before.  Anyway, I digress.

I have a decent set-up that I use for audio post-production for the occasional video project I work on. I use Logic Pro 9 for this work, and since this DAW is mostly under-utilized, I began looking for things to mix so that I might learn.  I find that I love it.  I entered several mixes in an entire album re-mix contest for Steve Kilbey (The Church) and Martin Kennedy (All India Radio) for their first collaborative album and was thrilled to have one of them accepted.  That lit a fire, and I found Indabamusic.com where I have dabbled since (I recently submitted a mix to the Ken Lewis competition).

However, I am not a re-mixer in the sense that the term is - as I discovered- widely understood over there. Though I have a couple of decent guitars that I noodle around with for my own amusement, I am definately not a musician and I cannot do what they do.